## From: Mick Cassel - Secretary Subject: Realignment of DPE teams to Transport and Treasury



Good morning DPE,

In December last year, the Secretary of the Department of Premier and Cabinet, Michael Coutts-Trotter, advised of the swearing in of a new NSW Cabinet and ministerial team.

This included the creation of a Minister for Infrastructure, Cities and Active Transport, the Hon. Rob Stokes MP, which was accompanied by the establishment of a Cities and Active Transport team within Transport for NSW. The Hon. Matt Kean MP was also sworn in as both the Treasurer and the Minister for Energy.

A timeline of 1 April was provided for when different sections of the public service would move to support these new teams. As that deadline approaches, I can inform you of the teams that will be moving from DPE.

## Movement of teams to Transport for NSW

The following teams will be moving across to Transport into the Cities and Active Transport team:

- Place Management NSW (including responsibility for The Rocks, Darling Harbour, Barangaroo operations, Luna Park Reserve Trust and White Bay)
- Greater Sydney Parklands (encompassing Paramatta Park Trust; Fernhill Estate; Western Sydney Parklands Trust; Centennial Park and Moore Park Trust, including part of Callan Park)
- Royal Botanic Gardens and Domain Trust (including Royal Botanic Garden Sydney, Australian Botanic Garden Mount Annan, Blue Mountains Botanic Garden Mount Tomah and Sydney Domain).
- The parts of the Public Spaces division responsible for streetscapes and place-based urban improvement and activation projects, (including Streets as Shared Spaces, Your High Street, Al Fresco Restart Program [including Open Streets and Summer Night Fund], Places to Love, Festival of Place and Place Excellence policies, tools and partnerships).
- Smart Places and employees responsible for Net Zero Cities Action Plan

The Barangaroo Activation and Precinct Management team within Infrastructure NSW, which recently moved into DPE, will also be part of the teams who will join our colleagues at Transport.

## Movement of teams to Treasury

An Office of Energy and Climate Change (OECC) is expected to be established as a distinct office within the Treasury Cluster.

The OECC will be led by Deputy Secretary of Energy, Climate Change and Sustainability Rachel Parry, and the Chief Executive of the Energy Corporation of NSW, James Hay, who will both be moving from DPE.

As part of this, the following teams from our Environment, Energy and Science Group will be moving across to Treasury:

- Energy Corporation of NSW, including all DPE employees who are currently working to support their functions
- The majority of employees in the Energy, Climate Change and Sustainability directorate

We are currently finalising the details of these changes with our colleagues in Transport and Treasury, including determining whether corporate support employees will be moving across.

The Heritage team from the Department of Premier and Cabinet will also be moving into DPE on 1 April 2022.

I would like to recognise the excellent contribution these teams have made to our cluster and I am sure they will continue their great work at Treasury and Transport for NSW.

Earlier this year I said that we will have to be agile and that we'll be constantly changing and refining how we work.

We'll always be changing to respond to new government priorities, and this change presents us with the opportunity to double down on our priorities to deliver for the community.

Thanks,

Mick