1980 - 1989 - Public Service Association

PSA Timeline: 1980 – 1989

Year Information
1980 In the first stoppage of PSA members, Prison Officers walk off the job.
1981 The four-division structure is reviewed at the PSA’s Annual Conference.
1983 Workplace Groups are introduced to the structure.
1986 After negotiations with the PSA, the NSW public sector introduces permanent part-time work.
1987 The President, Deputy President and Treasurer are elected for first time by ballot of all members, rather than by Annual Conference delegates.
1989 General Secretary and Vice Presidents are elected by a ballot of members for the first time.
Back To Top