Know your rights at work - Public Service Association

Know your rights at work

RFS - Your Rights at Work - Nov 2019

PSA Members are reminded of their sick leave entitlements under cl 80 of the Crown Employees (Public Service Conditions of Employment) Reviewed Award 2009:

cl 80.1    A staff member absent from duty for more than 2 consecutive working days because of illness must furnish evidence of illness to the Department Head in respect of the absence.

and;

cl 80.2    In addition to the requirements under subclause 79.2 of clause 79, Sick Leave of this award, a staff member may absent themselves for a total of 5 working days due to illness without the provision of evidence of illness to the Department Head.  Staff members who absent themselves in excess of 5 working days in a calendar year may be required to furnish evidence of illness to the Department Head for each occasion absent for the balance of the calendar year.

This means that you are only under an obligation to provide a medical certificate if you have had more than two consecutive sick days or more than five sick days in a calendar year.

If your manager is requesting a medical certificate outside of these circumstances, please contact the Member Support Centre on 1300 772 679 immediately.

Your PSA Delegates

Jim Killen jim.killen@rfs.nsw.gov.au
Lindsey Flynn lindsey.flynn@rfs.nsw.gov.au
Ben Plummer benjamin.plummer@rfs.nsw.gov.au
Bruce Hansen bruce.hansen@rfs.nsw.gov.au
Kam Baker kam.baker@rfs.nsw.gov.au
Ivan Perkins ivan.perkins@rfs.nsw.gov.au
Daniel Ainsworth daniel.ainsworth@rfs.nsw.gov.au

Your PSA staff

Ben Trainor Industrial Officer
btrainor@psa.asn.au

Glenn Duncan Organiser
gduncan@psa.asn.au

What can you do?

  • Give a copy of this bulletin to your colleagues.
  • Print this bulletin and put it up on your notice board.
  • Ask a colleague to join the PSA.
  • Get involved as your Area Contact

Related Posts

Back To Top